Skip to main content


Happy crowd of teachers raising hands

CEC Committees

Women looking at post it notes and working

The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)’s committees are responsible for advising the Board of Directors in their particular areas and/or execution of specific activities/programs. All committees report to the Board of Directors.

Committee Calls for Applications

Interested in serving in as a member of one of CEC’s committees? The following opportunities are available:

  • Student and Early Career Committee: The application deadline has been extended to 12:00 pm Eastern, May 25, 2021.

         Preview the Application

         Apply Now

  • Student Representative to the Representative Assembly: The application deadline has been extended to 12:00 pm Eastern, May 25, 2021.1

         Preview the Application.

         Apply Now

Standing Committees

The Finance and Audit Standing Committee addresses the financial stability of CEC and recommends to the Board of Directors the action to be taken on the annual program plan and budget. Other duties relate to the review of financial policies. The Committee is chaired by the Treasurer. The President Elect also serves as a member of the committee.

  • Yvonne Bui, Chair (CEC Treasurer)
  • Dennis Cavitt (CEC President Elect)
  • Julie Bost
  • April Miller
  • Cindi Nixon
  • Laura Nugent
  • Jane Quenneville

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.

The purpose of the Leadership Development Committee is to identify, nurture, and develop leadership potential and skills in emerging leaders. Its duties include intentionally identifying, cultivating, recruiting, and orienting a well-qualified and diverse pipeline of volunteer leaders for board and committee positions that are responsive to the current and future needs of CEC.

  • Mikki Garcia, Ed.D. (Chair)
  • Sheila B. Bailey, Ph.D.
  • William K. Bogdan, Ed.D.
  • Robin D. Brewer, Ph.D.
  • Amy Braddock, M.A.
  • Dennis Cavitt, Ed.D. (ex officio)
  • Kelly Grillo, Ph.D.
  • Jennifer Lesh, Ph.D. (ex officio)
  • Gloria Niles, Ph.D.
  • Anne Sloboda, Ph.D.
  • Jonté Taylor, Ph.D.
  • Zachary Walker, Ph.D.

Learn more about the Leadership Development Committee.

Contact the committee staff liaison.

Read the 2020 Annual Report.

Read the 2019 Annual Report and 2019 Top Achievements.

Read the 2018 Annual Report.

Advisory Committees

The Honors Committee selects the recipients of the CEC Professional Awards. The Honors Committee also periodically reviews the CEC Awards program and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors for enhancements.

  • Alissa Combs-Draughn 
  • Kat Boisvert (Chair)
  • David Hampton
  • Megan McMillan
  • Pam Epler
  • Anne Rose
  • Sandy Shacklady-White

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.

The Policy Steering Committee develops recommendations for consideration by CEC’s Board of Directors regarding special education legislative and regulatory issues at the national level and provide information to units that may be relevant at the state or local level; assists in ensuring that the organizations’ position statements are current, relevant, reflect CEC’s mission and values and adhere to CEC’s Principles and Guidelines for Developing Position Statements; stays informed about policy and legislative issues related to the education of infants, toddlers, children, and young adults with exceptionalities.

  • Mitchell Yell (Chair)” 
  • Shawn Bernard
  • Nate Marsden
  • Loretta Mason-Williams
  • Kimberly Osmani
  • Kevin Rubenstein
  • Amanda Schwartz 
  • Danielle Kovach (President Elect )

Contact the committee staff liaison.

The Professional Standards and Practice Committee studies the area of professional standards and their implication to CEC members and others involved in the education of children and youth with exceptionalities; advises the Board of Directors regarding CEC standards and related activities; and develops guidelines and other materials to assist the field in meeting CEC professional standards.   

  • Theresa Garfield (Chair)
  • Tammy Barron
  • Toni Franklin
  • Kharon Grimmet
  • Dee Berlinghoff
  • Maria Peterson-Ahmad
  • Michelle Powers

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information. 

The Representative Assembly Committee advises the presiding officer of the Representative Assembly (the CEC President) on procedures, formats, and field-based issues for Assembly meeting discussions or online input opportunities. Other duties include approval of Assembly meeting minutes, conducting orientations and online discussions, and determining eligibility for courtesy resolutions.

  • Jenn Katz-Borrin, Chair
  • Kelly Carrero
  • Ben Hicks
  • Kathryn Kreiser
  • Cheryl Wold

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.

The Student and Early Career Committee advises the Board of Directors on ways to recruit, mentor, and support individuals entering the profession, especially those from diverse backgrounds, and enhance the experience of student and early-career CEC members. It also plans and conducts a Student and Early Career Special Educator Forum and/or other events relevant to students and early-career teachers at the annual CEC Convention & Expo, providing opportunities for student attendees to engage with CEC in order to improve their practice, network with peers, and maximize their experience.

  • Tracy Sinclair (Chair) 
  • Kelly Acosta (Student Representative to the Representative Assembly)
  • Belkis Choisel-Praslin
  • Travis Cooper
  • Katie Lane
  • Jordan McNeill (Student Representative to the RA
  • Carson Quillinan
  • Richard Williams

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.

The Yes I Can Committee publicizes the Yes I Can Awards to ensure outstanding entries; seeks and solicits nominations; evaluates the nominees for each category; select recipients; and periodically reviews award categories and criteria.

  • Karen Holland
  • Kimberly Krug
  • Ann-Bailey Lipsett
  • Rita Brown 
  • Katherine Squires
  • Helen Flores 

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.

CEC Workgroups

Two women discussing at a table at conference

Workgroups are established by the Board of Directors and are assigned a specific charge and outcomes to be completed within a designated period of time. Workgroup members have knowledge, skills, and expertise in a particular area of strategic importance to CEC. The workgroup chair reports to the Board of Directors.

© 2021 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.