Skip to main content

The Outstanding CEC Leadership Award

This award honors a CEC member who has made significant contributions to the Council’s programs and activities at the local, state/provincial, and national/international level over an extended period of time.

October 18, 2022
Award type:

Award Details:

The Outstanding CEC Leadership Award honors a CEC member who has provided exemplary leadership to the organization at the unit, division and/or national/international levels over an extended period. The nominee’s achievements and contributions have resulted in recognition of the Council’s commitment, leadership, and dedication to improving positive outcomes for children and youth with exceptionalities.


Nominations may be made by an individual, unit, or division).


Award Benefits

The award recipient will be:  

  • invited to attend the CEC 2023 Convention & Expo, March 1 – 4, 2023, in Louisville, KY, compliments of CEC (CEC will cover the recipient’s registration);
  • recognized and receive a commemorative plaque at an Awards Luncheon during the CEC 2023 Convention & Expo.
  • given a $500 cash honorarium; and 
  • featured in a press release on the CEC website (

Eligibility Requirements  

  • Nominee must be a current CEC member at the time of nomination and granting of the award. 
  • The work of the nominee must be consistent with CEC’s mission statement, as stated above. 
  • Nominees must have provided exemplary leadership to CEC in areas including unit or division leadership; committee or task force membership; professional development/training; policy and advocacy; governance; and professional standards and accreditation. 
  • Posthumous nominations are not accepted.  


Rules and Instructions for Nomination  

  • All nomination materials must be submitted by 12:00 pm ET, September 19, 2022.
  • The nomination form is available at 
  • Supporting materials may uploaded into the online nomination form as PDF, doc or docx files. If you are unable to upload them, please email them to Sharon Rodriguez.  
  • Please use the file name to clearly label each section and all nomination materials (e.g., “John_Smith_2021_Weintraub_Award.pdf” or “John _Smith_Vitae.doc”). 
  • All materials submitted become the property of CEC and will not be returned. 

Apply Online

Required Materials 

The nomination packet is divided into three sections:

  • Nominee Responses to Areas of Award Relevance 
    • Please list the CEC leadership roles (including dates) you have held at the unit, division and international level.
    • For each role, please describe how the nominees contributions advanced CEC’s programs and activities. Quantitative documentation should be provided where possible. (500-word maximum)
    • Please document nominee’s contributions, and notable outcomes, to CEC’s public policy and/or advocacy, standards development, programs (including professional development/conferences/conventions), journals/publications/products, member engagement, and/or DEI initiatives. Quantitative documentation should be provided where possible. (700-word maximum)
  • Vitae/Resumé of Nominee  
  • Letters of Recommendation  
    • At least three letters of recommendation documenting the nominee’s efforts in meeting the award criteria. 

Selection Considerations 

  • The CEC Honors Committee has the authority to give only one Outstanding CEC Leadership Award or opt not to grant the award in any given year. 
  • NOTE: Individuals nominated for this award but not selected may be included in the pool of nominees the following year, with their permission. If the nominator who originally submitted the nomination intends to resubmit it for a second year, they may do so by sending a letter of intent to the Honors Committee Staff Liaison (see below). The previous nomination materials can be reused.
2023 Mikki Garcia
2022 Not awarded
2021 Not awarded
2020 Not awarded
2019 Not awarded
2018 Antonis Katsiyannis
2017 Douglas Cheney
2016 Lyndal M. Bullock
2015 John Wills Lloyd
2014 Susan K. Johnsen
2013 Rosa (Amy) Milagros Santos
2012 Howard S. Muscott
2011 Gerald J. Reynaud
2010 Margaret J. McLaughlin
2008 Donna McNear
2007 William K. Bogdan
2006 H. William Heller
2004 Philip H. Hatlen
2003 Jean Hebeler
2001 Gerald J. Hime
2000 Beverly Johns
1999 Anders Martin Berg, Jr.
1998 Parthenia D. Cogdell
1997 Jack R. Lamb
Mary Jean Lambert
1995 Pamela K. Gillet
1994 Eleanor Guetzloe
William R. Littlejohn
1993 Jo Thomason
1992 Frances P. Connor
1991 June Peterson Robinson
1990 Robert E. Abbott
John W. Kidd
1989 June B. Jordan
Kenneth E. Wyatt


Last Updated:  30 January, 2023

© 2022 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.