Skip to main content

3 New Members of the Senate Sworn In, Shifting the Majority to Democrats

Picture of Vice-President Harris swearing in 3 new Senate members

The makeup of the Senate changed twice this week.

On Monday, Vice-President Kamala Harris resigned from her Senate seat. On Wednesday, Harris performed her new duties to swear in three new members: Democratic Georgia Senators Jon Ossoff and Raphael Warnock, and Alex Padilla (who tapped to fill the seat that Harris vacated as the Junior Senator from California).

The swearing in flipped the majority to Democrats, as Harris is now the tie-breaking vote. However, with a 50/50 split, Republicans and Democrats will need to enter a power-sharing agreement for the 117th Congress. That agreement has yet to be ironed out.

Posted:  22 January, 2021

© 2023 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.