COUNCIL FOR EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Minutes

June 12, 2024 (Approved August 4, 2024)

1.0 Call to Order and Official Items

1.1 Call to Order

President Kareem Thompson called the regular meeting of the Council for Exceptional Children Board of Directors to order at 7:03 p.m. ET.

1.2 Record of Attendance and Determination of Quorum

Executive Director Chad Rummel called the roll. A quorum of the following Directors was present:

Kareem Thompson (P)
Julie Bost (PE)
Angie Jasper (IPP)
Jennifer Lesh (T)
Anna Adl
Sacha Cartagena
Laural Jackson
Toni Mixon
Charmion Rush
Zelphine Smith-Dixon
Ben Tillotson

Not present: Jennifer Diliberto, Ben Hicks, Concetta Lewis, Ruby Owiny

Also present: Laurie VanderPloeg, Associate Executive Director for Professional Affairs, Craig Evans, Chief Financial Officer

1.3 Adoption of Agenda

MOTION: The agenda was approved with no objections.

2.0 Governance (Fiduciary Duty) Items

2.1 Investment Update

<u>Dave Trosko of Morgan Stanley</u> reviewed CEC's investments.

2.2 2023 Audit Review and Motion

Glenn Miller of Wegner CPAs reviewed the audit.

MOTION: Laural Jackson moved to receive the investment update and CEC's 202 Audited Financial Statements as presented and as recommended by the Finance & Audit Committee.

2.3 Reserves Contribution Motion

MOTION: Julie Bost moved to contribute 10% (\$27,633) of the \$276,331 2023 net operating surplus to CEC's investment account.

Jennifer Lesh seconded.

Motion passed.

- 3.0. Discussion Item
- **3.1** President Elect
- 4.0. New Business

There was no new business.

5.0. Executive Session

5.1 Proprietary Business Contracts

The board went into executive session at 8:05 p.m. to discuss proprietary business information and came out of executive session at 8:19 p.m.

6.0. For the Good of the Order and Adjournment

Without objection, President Thompson adjourned the meeting at 8:20 p.m. ET.

CEC Board of Directors Voting Record

June 12, 2024

Member	Agenda	Audit Receipt	Reserves Contribution
Kareem Thompson (P)			
Julie Bost (PE)			
Angie Jasper (IPP)			
Jennifer Lesh (T)			
Anna Adl			
Sacha Cartagena			
Jennifer Diliberto			
Ben Hicks			
Laural Jackson			
Concetta Lewis			
Toni Mixon			
Ruby Owiny			
Charmion Rush			
Zelphine Smith-Dixon			
Ben Tillotson			
YES (Y)			
NO (N)			
ABSTAIN (A)			
ABSENT (0)			
ОИТСОМЕ	Р	Р	Р