### OCOUNCIL FOR EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN BOARD OF DIRECTORS

## July 20, 2022 Virtual

#### Minutes

#### (Approved November 5, 2022)

#### 1.0 Official Items

#### 1.1 Call to Order

President Danielle Kovach called the regular meeting of the Council for Exceptional Children Board of Directors to order at 7:05 p.m. ET.

#### 1.2 Record of Attendance; Determination of Quorum

Danielle Kovach Angie Jasper Dennis Cavitt Yvonne Bui Tisa Aceves Joy Banks Tachelle Banks Ben Hicks Will Hunter Laural Jackson Cindy Perras Charmion Rush Kareem Thompson Ben Tillotson Mitch Yell

Not present: Kurt Hulett

## 1.3 Adoption of Board Business Meeting Agenda

**MOTION:** Cindy Perras moved to adopt the Board Business Meeting Agenda. Mitch Yell seconded.

#### Motion passed.

2.0 Action Items (carried over from 7/13-14/2022 meeting due to not having a quorum)

#### 2.1 Voted on 7/13

## 2.2 Voted on 7/13

## 2.3 Caucuses/Affinity Groups Motion

The goal of Affinity Groups is to help members connect with other members that have similar backgrounds or interests. The intent is to engage these members to have a deeper understanding of CEC and continued membership.

Affinity Groups are defined as groups of individuals that share a particular identity (e.g., specific demographic or socially defined segment of membership). Membership within an Affinity Group is voluntary and based upon an individual's identification with that identity(ies). Examples include race, gender, sexual orientation, nationality, language, ability, etc. The intent of Affinity Groups is to provide a space for individuals who share a common identity(ies) to bond and feel more connected. Affinity Group efforts may include, but are not limited to, networking opportunities, resource gathering/sharing, developing strategies to address the collective concerns of individuals within the group.

**MOTION:** Kareem Thompson moved the motion to accept the proposal for Affinity Groups, submitted by President Elect Angie Jasper and Director of Component Services Brannan Meyers. Charmion Rush seconded.

### Motion passed.

## 2.4 BIPOC Travel Award Revision Motion

**MOTION:** Angie Jasper moved to approve a Diversity Travel Stipend to support travel to CEC's annual Convention & Expo for student and early career (first five years in role) members from Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC) backgrounds. Charmion Rush seconded.

The motion was tabled until the board receives the updated applications or the November meeting.

### 2.5 Racial Justice Grant Proposal

**MOTION:** Dennis Cavitt moved to approve the chair and co-chairs of Project 20/20 (or subsequent diversity, equity, and inclusion committee members) as the workgroup responsible for receiving and selecting the recipients of the Racial Justice Grant, as recommended by the Project 20/20 committee, effective immediately and terminating at the time in which the Board discontinues the Racial Justice Grant. Cindy Perras seconded.

The motion was tabled. Staff will develop an implementation plan to proposed to the board at its November meeting.

### 3.0 New Business

There was no new business.

### 4.0 Executive Session

The board went into Executive Session at 8:00.

## 4.1 Treasurer Interviews and Appointment

No director made a motion to appoint either candidate.

# 4.2 President Elect

- 4.2.1.1 President Elect Interview #1
- 4.2.1.2 President Elect Interview #2

### 4.2.1.3 Appointment

The board voted to appoint Kareem Thompson to the position of President Elect.

The board came out of Executive Session at 10:15 p.m.

## 5.0 For the Good of the Order and Adjournment

Without objection, President Kovach adjourned the meeting at 10:15 p.m. ET.

## CEC Board of Dir20ectors Voting Record July 20, 2022

------

Member	-< 1.4 Agenda	2.3 Caucuses/Affinity Groups	2.4 BIPOC Travel Award *	2.5 Racial Justice Grant *
Danielle Kovach	Y	Y		
Angie Jasper	Y	Y		
Dennis Cavitt	Y	Y		
Yvonne Bui	Y	Y		
Tisa Aceves	Y	Y		
Joy Banks	Y	Y		
Tachelle Banks	Y	Y		
Ben Hicks	Y	Y		
Kurt Hullet				
Will Hunter	Y	Y		
Laural Jackson	Y	Y		
Cindy Perras	Y	Y		
Charmion Rush	Y	Y		
Kareem Thompson	Y	Y		
Ben Tillotson	Y	Y		
Mitch Yell	Y	Y		
YES (Y)	15	15		
NO (N)	0	0		
ABSTAIN (A)	0	0		
ABSENT (0)	1	1		
OUTCOME	Р	Р		

\* Motion tabled.