# COUNCIL FOR EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN BOARD OF DIRECTORS

#### Minutes

May 12, 2021 Virtual

(Approved July 11, 2021)

# 1.0 Call to Order and Official Items

### 1.1 Call to Order

President Dennis Cavitt called the regular meeting of the Council for Exceptional Children Board of Directors to order at 6:03 p.m. ET.

## 1.2 Record of Attendance and Determination of Quorum

Executive Director Chad Rummel called the roll. A quorum of the following Directors was present:

Dennis Cavitt
Danielle Kovach
Yvonne Bui
Tisa Aceves
Joy Banks
Tachelle Banks
Rosalind Hall
Will Hunter
Cindy Perras
Mitch Yell

Not present: Jennifer Lesh, Laural Jackson, Charmion Rush, Kareem Thompson, Ben Tillotson

## 1.3 Adoption of Agenda

MOTION: Rosalind Hall moved to adopt the Board Business Meeting Agenda. Cindy Perras seconded.

Motion passed.

### 2.0 Governance Items

## 2.1 2020 Audit Review and Motion

**MOTION:** Mitch Yell moved to accept CEC's 2020 Audited Financial Statements and IRS Form 990 as presented. Danielle Kovach seconded.

## Motion passed.

## 2.2 LDC Committee Member Appointments

**MOTION:** Cindy Perras moved to appoint the following individuals to serve on the Leadership Development Committee for a three-year term (Sept. 1, 2021 – Aug. 31, 2024):

Angie Jasper Kim Moffett Wendy Gonzales Wendy Otheim

**Further moved, to** extend the term of Robin Brewer by one year, to end August 31, 2022, to fill a midterm vacancy.

Rosalind Hall seconded.

### Motion passed.

# 2.3 Advanced Standards Workgroup Co-Chair Appointment

**MOTION:** Cindy Perras appoint Toni Franklin Ph.D. and Maria Peterson-Ahmad Ph.D., as Co-Chairs of the Advanced Standards Development Workgroup as recommended by the Professional Standards and Practice Committee, effective immediately and terminating upon final approval of the workgroup's deliverables by the Board of Directors or until such time as the Board disbands the workgroup moved to. Mitch Yell seconded.

### Motion passed.

## 3.0. New Business

There was no new business.

## 4.0. For the Good of the Order and Adjournment

Without objection, President Cavitt adjourned the meeting at 5:36 p.m. ET.