

Frederick J. Weintraub Outstanding CEC Leadership Award

The Frederick J. Weintraub Outstanding CEC Leadership Award is given in honor of a Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) member whose continued and sustained involvement at the local, state or provincial, national, and/or international level has resulted in CEC being internationally recognized for its commitment, leadership, and dedication to serving children and youth with exceptionalities. Originally known as the Outstanding Contributor Award, the Honors Committee developed the following selection criteria when the award was first established in 1988:

- The recipient must be a current CEC member and must have maintained membership over an extended, continuous period.
- The recipient must provide documentation of personal contributions at the local, state or provincial, national, and/or international level over an extended period of time. Documentation should include:
 - o Professional vita
 - A minimum of three and maximum of five letters of support regarding the individual's commitment and personal contribution to CEC
- Evidence should attest to the impact of the recipient's contributions to the goals of CEC. Such evidence should include, but not be limited to: a description of the leadership roles accepted and executed by the individual; the recipient's participation in the activities of CEC, i.e. conferences, symposia, and academies; contribution to CEC publications; program initiations and/or development; development of curricular material, and technical aides; actions related to the legislation and judicial decisions; and documentation of tested practices.

In 2014, the name of the award was changed to recognize Frederick Weintraub, a former CEC staff member and longtime CEC member whose work and influence was instrumental in the passage of the *Education of All Handicapped Children Act*, Public Law 94-142, which was passed by the United States Congress in 1975 and renamed the *Individuals with Disabilities Education Act* (IDEA) in 1990.

Recent recipients of the Frederick J. Weintraub Outstanding CEC Leadership Award include Antonis Katsiyannis, Ed.D., Clemson University (2018); Douglas Cheney, Ph.D., University of Washington (2017); Lyndal M. Bullock, Ph.D., University of North Texas (2016); and John Wills Lloyd, Ph.D., University of Virginia (2015).