# COUNCIL FOR EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN BOARD OF DIRECTORS

May 29, 2019

# **Board Business Meeting Minutes**

(Approved July 5, 2019)

#### 1.0 Call to Order and Official Items

#### 1.1 Call to Order

President Mary Lynn Boscardin called to order the regular meeting of the Council for Exceptional Children Board of Directors at 5:01 p.m.

## 1.2 Record of Attendance and Determination of Quorum

Board Secretary Alexander T. Graham called the roll. A quorum of the following Directors was present:

Mary Lynn Boscardin, President
Jennifer Lesh, President Elect
Mikki Garcia, Past President
Jim McCormick, Treasurer
Linda Balon-Smith
Julie Bost
Dennis Cavitt
Rafael CdeBaca
Rosalind Hall
Barbara Hong
Diana Morales
Mitch Yell
Paul Zinni

Not present: Tisa Aceves, Laural Jackson, Danielle Kovach, Charmion Rush

#### 1.3 Adoption of Agenda

**MOTION:** Rosalind Hall moved to adopt the Board Business Meeting Agenda with a motion to appoint co-chairs for the CEC 2020 Local Arrangements Committee added under new business. Dennis Cavitt seconded.

Motion passed.

## 2.0 Appointment of Interim Executive Director – Evans

**MOTION:** Rafael CdeBaca moved to appoint Craig Evans, CMA, CEC's Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and Director of Operations, as interim executive director, effective July 19, 2019. Barbara Hong seconded.

Motion passed.

#### 3.0 New Business

## LAC 2020 Co-Chairs Appointment Motion – Lierheimer/McConachie

**MOTION:** Linda Balon-Smith moved to appoint Kristin Lierheimer and Lisa McConachie, as Co-Chairpersons of the Local Arrangements Committee for the 2020 CEC Convention & Expo, effective immediately through March 31, 2020. Diana Morales seconded.

Motion passed.

### 4.0 For the Good of the Order and Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:20 p.m.