COUNCIL FOR EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Board Business Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, April 7, 2015; 3:00 – 5:30 pm Wednesday, April 8, 2015; 9:00 – 10:30 am

Hilton San Diego Bayfront Aqua 300 A/B; Level 3

(Approved June 18, 2015)

Tuesday, April 7

1.0 Call to Order and Official Items

1.1 Call to Order

President Jim Heiden called to order the regular meeting of the Council for Exceptional Children Board of Directors at 3:06 p.m. PDT.

1.2 Record of Attendance and Determination of Quorum (Graham)

Board Secretary Alexander Graham called the roll. A quorum of the following Directors was present.

Jim Heiden **Robin Brewer** Antonis Katsivannis Sharon Raimondi Joni Baldwin Jennifer Britton Yvonne Bui Lauren Delisio Jannis Floyd Annette Gaitan John Hess Laural Jackson **Debbie Metcalf** Jane Quenneville Claudia Rinaldi Anne Sloboda Scott Sparks George Van Horn **Phyllis Wolfram**

Board Business Meeting Minutes – April 7-8, 2015

1.3 Introductions

Because this was the first face-to-face meeting of the Board this year, members briefly introduced themselves.

1.4 Adoption of Agenda

MOTION:	Scott Sparks moved to adopt the agenda.	Annette Gaitan
	seconded.	

Motion carried.

1.5 Consent Agenda

MOTION: John Hess moved to adopt the consent agenda. Anne Sloboda seconded.

Motion carried.

2.0 Governance and Organizational Reports

2.1 President's Report

President Hieden briefly reported that he recently attended the Michigan CEC Conference and made presentations regarding membership and leadership within CEC. He also met with his Representative Gwen Moore. She is interested in championing the cause of special education so he will be pursing that issue with her. He is part of a group of superintendents in Wisconsin working for the State Superintendent of Public Instruction about warding off special education vouchers in the state. Finally, Heiden requested that, during the Convention, Board members reach out and talk with attendees about membership, especially people they don't know.

2.2 Executive Director's Report (Graham)

Graham reported that Camille Sanders was hired to fill the Membership Manager position. He provided an overview of the training project with (Saudi Arabian) Tatweer for Education, which now has been completed. CEC may be involved in the next phase of the project, which would be programming for inclusive schools. He also provided an update on the lease and the plot of land owned by CEC.

2.3. Financial Update / Treasurer

Treasurer Sharon Raimondi and Interim CFO Ruby Aggarwal provided an update on CEC's finances, including final February financials and a report on the 2014 audit, scheduled to be reviewed by the Finance and Audit Standing Committee following the Board's April 8th meeting.

2.4 Nominations Standing Committee

Immediate Past President Robin Brewer reported on the work of the Nominations Standing Committee (NSC), the positions open for 2016, requirements, revisions to the application and noted the May 13th deadline. She also reminded the Board about the NSC's April 9th "Aspiring Leaders" session.

- 2.5 Division of Visual and Performing Arts Education
 - **MOTION:** George VanHorn moved to establish a Division of Visual and Performing Arts Educations (DARTS). Debbie Metcalf seconded.

Motion carried.

2.6 CEC 2015

2.6.1 Convention Update

Carol Serrano, Director, Conventions and Meetings, provided a brief update on convention and workgroup registrations. Program Chair Russell Gersten, and his assistant, Joe Dimino, noted highlights of the convention program, and Local Arrangements Committee (LAC) Chair Gerald "Jerry" Hime gave a brief overview of the LAC's recent work.

2.6.2 Board Convention Activities

Executive Director Alex Graham and Sharon Rodriguez, Executive Assistant, provided a brief overview of Board activities and responsibilities during the convention.

President Heiden called the meeting into recess at 5:04 pm PDT.

Wednesday, April 8

1.0 Call to Order and Official Items

1.1 Call to Order

President Jim Heiden called to order the regular meeting of the Council for Exceptional Children Board of Directors at 9:08 a.m. PDT.

1.2 Record of Attendance and Determination of Quorum

Board Secretary Alexander Graham called the roll. A quorum of the following Directors was present.

Jim Heiden **Robin Brewer** Antonis Katsiyannis Sharon Raimondi Joni Baldwin Jennifer Britton Yvonne Bui Lauren Delisio Jannis Floyd Annette Gaitan John Hess Laural Jackson **Debbie Metcalf** Jane Quenneville Claudia Rinaldi Anne Sloboda Scott Sparks George Van Horn Phyllis Wolfram

2.0 Governance and Organizational Report

2.7 Committee Chair Reports

Committee chairs were invited to present a brief verbal report to the Board. The following committee chairs were able to present: Donna Sacco (Elections Standing Committee); Michael Behrmann (Honors Committee); Jennifer Lesh, (Representative Assembly Committee); and Denise Whitford (Student Committee).

2.8.1 Bylaws Workgroup Final Report

MOTION: Robin Brewer moved to provide 60-day notice to the membership of the proposed revisions to CEC's Bylaws as recommended by the Bylaws Workgroup to render them in accordance with association best practices, highlighting the changes regarding definition of "Classroom Ranks"; automatic slating of board members applying for a second term on the board; and slating current members of the board to fill a vacancy in the office of president. Yvonne Bui seconded.

Motion carried.

2.8.2 Convention Workgroup Interim Report

Workgroup Chair Christy Chambers provided the Board with an update of the workgroup's progress to date. A final report is scheduled for June 2015.

3.0 New Business

- 3.1 Diversity Committee Chair Appointment
 - **MOTION:** John Hess moved to appoint Mikki Garcia to serve as Chairperson of the Diversity Committee for a term commencing June 1, 2015 and ending December 31, 2017. Antonis Katsiyannis seconded.

Motion carried.

3.0 Executive Session

The Board did not go into Executive Session.

4.0 For the Good of the Order and Adjournment

President Heiden recognized Claudia Rinaldi for chairing the Diversity Workgroup. He also recognized Immediate Past President Robin Brewer and presented her with a token of the Board's appreciation for her work as President during the previous year.

Without objection, President Heiden adjourned the meeting at 10:27 am PDT.