COUNCIL FOR EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Conference Call March 30, 2016 11:00 am EDT

Minutes Approved April 12, 2016

1.1 Call to Order

President Antonis Katsiyannis called to order the regular meeting of the Council for Exceptional Children Board of Directors at 11:03 a.m. EDT.

1.2 Record of Attendance and Determination of Quorum

Board Secretary Alexander T. Graham called the roll. A quorum of the following Directors was present:

Antonis Katsiyannis

Mikki Garcia

Jim Heiden

Sharon Raimondi

Joni Baldwin

Jennifer Britton

Yvonne Bui

Jannis Floyd

Andrea Jasper

Jennifer Lesh

Kim Moffett

Claudia Rinaldi

Ed Schultz

Anne Sloboda

Jonathan Stout

George Van Horn

Phyllis Wolfram

Mickie Wong-Lo

The following Directors was not present: Jane Quenneville

1.3 Adoption of Agenda

MOTION: Anne Sloboda moved to adopt the agenda. Claudia Rinaldi seconded.

Motion passed.

2.0 IDEA Workgroup Chair Appointment Motion

MOTION: George Van Horn moved to appoint Tim Lewis as Chair of the IDEA Reauthorization Recommendations Workgroup, effective immediately and terminating upon approval of the workgroup's final recommendations by the Board of Directors (planned for the Board's first meeting, as of yet unscheduled, in 2017). Jonathan Stout seconded.

Motion passed.

3.0 Convention & Expo

Carol Serrano, Director of Conventions and Meetings, and Diane Shinn, Director of Marketing and Communications, provided an update on convention statistics (various registrations, hotel reservations, etc.), promotional efforts, and highlights of CEC 2016.

4.0 Board Activities

The Board received a schedule of events and information regarding visits with vendors in the Expo Hall. Directors were instructed to sign up to attend division socials.

Information was provided regarding the Representative Assembly meeting and facilitating the small group discussions on high leverage practices.

5.0 Questions

An opportunity for questions was provided.

6.0 For the Good of the Order and Adjournment

MOTION: Sharon Raimondi moved to adopt the agenda. Jannis Floyd seconded.

Motion passed.

President Katsiyannis adjourned the meeting at 12:00 p.m. EDT.